My Morning Laugh

Sometimes God makes me laugh. This morning I think God was laughing first and then I joined in.

My alarm was set for 5 a.m. for prayer. When the alarm went off, I didn’t want to get up. I went to set it for 6 a.m., but the buttons all seemed like they were in the wrong places. After fumbling around long enough to become more awake than I wanted to be, instead of resetting the alarm, I ended up resetting the actual clock time for 6 a.m.

Although I was trying to stay half asleep because I still had a faint hope of going back to sleep for an hour, I started to smile, because I could see where this was going.

I didn’t want to wake up my husband, so I would have to unplug the alarm clock and take it to the next room to fix the time: I needed to turn on a light to see what I was doing, especially since my fingers seemed to think the buttons had been rearranged.

Hoping the backup battery was in working order, I unplugged the alarm clock and the screen went blank. Did that mean the battery was dead? I felt a jolt of energy as the problem seemed to morph into something resembling advanced calculus in its complexity.

In the next room, hurrying for the sake of what, if anything, was left of the batteries, I tried to plug in the clock and struggled to align the prongs with the two holes they were supposed to fit into, because of course, I hadn’t turned the light on yet.

After failing several times, I took a deep breath and encouraged myself to try again. Feeling carefully with my fingers, I finally fit the puzzle together and the display said 6:03 a.m. That was good news because it meant the battery wasn’t dead yet. I turned the light on and reset the clock’s time.

By now, I was wide awake and decided I didn’t want to go back to sleep after all.

I put the clock back in the bedroom, grabbed my Bible and notebook, went to my cozy little sofa, and had a beautiful time of prayer mingled with smiles over God’s way of getting me there.

How has God made you smile?

About Monica Miller

Monica Miller is a wife, homemaker, reader, writer, violinist, and whatever else God has her be at the time.
This entry was posted in humor, prayer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Morning Laugh

  1. Katina says:

    Reading how you solved your calculus equation put a smile on my face! Thanks for a good laugh 😀

Leave a Reply

