Conversation that glorifies God

When I was a little girl, my mother told me, “If you don’t have something nice to say, don’t say it at all.”

We are to love one another and speak life and blessings over one another. Our conversations are to edify one another and glorify God.

When we speak evil of someone else, whether it’s gossiping or whatever else we try to call it, we are not loving our neighbor as ourselves. Do you want someone else to broadcast your mistakes and missteps?

It’s no one else’s business what so-and-so did to offend you or whatever mistakes they made. Forgive them. Pray for them. Love them.

I think sometimes people feel like they have to tell “juicy news” about other people because they think if they don’t have something interesting to say, people won’t like them or want to spend time with them. Speaking at another person’s expense is not the way to make friends.

I’d rather sit with someone and be silent and listen to the air around us than listen to someone telling me bad things about other people.

Tell me something nice. Tell me something uplifting that isn’t at someone else’s expense. Tell me what wonderful things God has been doing for you lately. Tell me what God has been teaching you. Tell me what God has been showing you in His Word. Tell me your hopes and dreams. Or be silent. But don’t tell me something bad about someone else. It hurts.

Don’t say anything that would hurt [another person]. Instead, speak only what is good so that you can give help wherever it is needed. That way, what you say will help those who hear you. Ephesians 4:29 (GOD’S WORD Translation)

About Monica Miller

Monica Miller is a wife, homemaker, reader, writer, violinist, and whatever else God has her be at the time.
This entry was posted in conversation, edification, exhortation, love and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Conversation that glorifies God

  1. Katina says:

    Powerful message! Yes, the air around sometimes has more value than some of the conversations I have allowed myself to be the part of. Praise God for forgiveness! He gives us a fresh clean start with our thoughts and our words with every conversation of the day. Thank you for posting!

Leave a Reply

