Who are the spiritually bankrupt?

Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. Who are the poor in spirit? How about the EXTREMELY poor in spirit, the spiritually bankrupt?

I’ve generally thought of the poor in spirit as those who are depressed and unhappy, people who don’t think they have much to offer, and people who seem like outcasts. I still think these people are poor in spirit, but when I think of it using the term “spiritually bankrupt,” I think of drug addicts and prostitutes; then I move on to think of thieves and abusers; then I move on to think of rapists and murderers. These people are spiritually bankrupt. So how could the kingdom of heaven be theirs? I see it as Jesus is offering them a way out. Jesus is offering them the kingdom of heaven – they need only to repent and turn to Jesus. They don’t have to stay spiritually bankrupt. They can obtain forgiveness and new life in Christ Jesus.

And when the Pharisees saw it, they said to His disciples, “Why does your Teacher eat with tax collectors and sinners?” When Jesus heard that, He said to them, “Those who are well have no need of a physician, but those who are sick. But go and learn what this means: ‘I desire mercy and not sacrifice.’ For I did not come to call the righteous, but sinners to repentance.” Matthew 9:11-13 NKJV

My advice: don’t despise ANYONE. God loves EACH ONE so much that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish, but have everlasting life. We war not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places.

Additional references: Acts 13:38-39; Romans 5:18

About Monica Miller

Monica Miller is a wife, homemaker, reader, writer, violinist, and whatever else God has her be at the time.
This entry was posted in compassion, forgiveness, gospel, hope, Jesus, love, salvation, scripture and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Who are the spiritually bankrupt?

  1. Katina Maria says:

    I too have thought of what it means to be spiritually poor. What came to me was when I get to the point where I have nothing to give–I can’t figure it out, I can’t do any more good, I have given everything and come up short–it’s then I receive the Kingdom of Heaven because the Kingdom of Katina is no longer functional.
    That’s just a thought. I like what you had to say about not despising anyone. God loves all of His creation, and it only takes a moment for a sinner to turn and repent. We are all sinners.

    • I like your description of spiritually poor. “I have given everything and come up short – it’s then I receive the Kingdom of Heaven because the Kingdom of Katina is no longer functional.”

Leave a Reply

