Where’s your focus?

It is easy to lose focus. Our focus is best aimed at the most important things, but often our focus is sidetracked by daily tasks, to-do lists, e-mail, facebook, selfish interests. Sometimes we forget what we are doing it all for, and then a feeling of emptiness sets in.

Jesus says, Seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these other things shall be added unto you.

We are to set our affection on things above, not on the things that are on the earth.

Sometimes we get so carried away with the things we are doing, that we forget about God and what He wants  us to do. Sometimes we begin to feel separated from God, distant; but close, intimate relationship is what He is offering us and calling us to at all times.

Those daily tasks serve their purpose, but it is well to keep our focus on God as we do those daily tasks. We can remain close to Him while we are doing those everyday things, by keeping our hearts towards Him and by seeking His will in all things.

Every once in awhile I find myself in a spot where I’ve been “driving the car” for a long time by myself, assuming that I know best, following my own judgments, my own inclinations. Then I realize I don’t know where I’m going, because I’ve been wandering along, distracted by the mechanics of everything, consumed by the gas pedal and the stick shift. I haven’t consulted the map in so long that I don’t know where I am or where I am going.

I need to consult the map. I need to talk to God and draw near to Him and know that He is near me. Prayer draws me closer to God, and sometimes that means I need to set everything down and just get on my heart’s knees before God, lay everything down at His feet, and ask Him to start me fresh again. Reading God’s word draws me closer to God, helps me get my focus on heavenly things, on the Lord and His love and His righteousness.

When I draw near to God, God draws near to me. I know He is near. I am made right with God because my heart is His and Jesus saved me.

And then clarity of thought comes back. I know my destination: God’s will.

Rather than only focusing on earthly things, take some time out and get your eyes adjusted so your vision isn’t distorted: focus on God and His kingdom and His righteousness. Suddenly you will have that sense of purpose, and then you may go forward with conviction, without doubting, confidently in God’s will, knowing once again that He is holding your hand.

* * *

Connect with me on Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn.

About Monica Miller

Monica Miller is a wife, homemaker, reader, writer, violinist, and whatever else God has her be at the time.
This entry was posted in faith, God, inspiration, Jesus, prayer, religion, spirituality and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

