It is God we seek to please.

I want to live my life in the way that pleases the LORD God. I want to do as God wants me to do. I want to see as God wants me to see, hear as God wants me to hear, love as God wants me to love, do as God wants me to do, speak as God wants me to speak. I don’t want to do it my way anymore. I want to do it God’s way.

God’s ways are higher than our ways. God’s thoughts are higher than our thoughts. I live by faith, I walk by faith, not by sight. God’s way is better, even when it doesn’t seem like it. In the long run, God’s way proves to be better, proves to result in peace and joy for all; but the short view, because of our short-sightedness, sometimes seems hard and requires patience, which may not seem to come naturally. We have to go to God to get that patience that helps us. Ask, and ye shall receive, Jesus says. He gets us through. We must trust Him. And it is always easier if our eyes are set on Him, for then the earthly things fade in importance, and we may rest in Jesus, where it is perfectly peaceful.

Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on thee: because he trusteth in thee. Isaiah 26:3

It is God we seek to please. Jesus is the way we please God. Our faith is counted for righteousness. When we believe in Jesus, God’s words to Him become God’s words to us: This is my beloved Son, in whom I am well pleased. When I believe in Jesus, God’s only begotten Son, God says of me, This is my beloved child, in whom I am well pleased. And then God does the work in us. God completes the work in us. God transforms us into the image of Christ, and we begin to love as He loves, live as He lives. We live through Jesus.

God is love. When we believe in Jesus, God fills us with Jesus, fills us with a heart of love. Love does the work in us, and love does the work through us.

Amen.

About Monica Miller

Monica Miller is a wife, homemaker, reader, writer, violinist, and whatever else God has her be at the time.
This entry was posted in faith, God, Jesus, love, religion, spirituality and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

