This Morning’s Prayer

Praise the Lord, for he is good, for his mercy endures for ever.  The Lord is gracious and full of compassion.  The Lord loves us.

For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.  John 3:16

Thank you, Lord, for loving us.  Thank you, Lord God, for sending Jesus, that whoever believes in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.

Thank you, Lord, for the Holy Spirit, which you give to those who believe in Jesus.  Praise you, Father, Son, and Holy Spirit.  Be glorified, O LORD.  Amen.

Thank you for your mercy, O Lord.  Thank you for being patient with us.  Thank you for being patient with me.

Forgive me, Lord, for the sin of pride.  Thank you for showing me to repent of pride, Lord.  Pride is so ugly.  It, like the love of money, is a root of much evil.  Pride was a stronghold for all sorts of evil, confusion, judging others, despising others.  Father, in Jesus’ name I ask you to forgive me, wash it away—wash all the wicked pride away, wash away all the evil that grew out of it.  Cleanse me throughly from my sin, O Lord, in Jesus’ name.

Thank you, Lord, that if we confess our sins, you are faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.

Thank you for forgiving me for pride and all the associated sins.  Thank you, Lord, for cleansing me from all unrighteousness.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

* * *

All these things I think I want to get done today…causes me stress.  Forgive me, Lord.  You have shown me you do not want me to have an agenda, that this is your day.  Forgive me for trying to make it my day, instead of leaving it be your day.  This is your day, Lord.  This is the day that the Lord has made, not the day I have made—I cannot make a day, only God can.  This is the day that  the Lord has made.  We will rejoice and be glad in it.  We will rejoice and be glad in what God has made.

Thank you, Lord, that I will get done today exactly what you want me to get done today.  Thank you, Lord, for this day you have made, and for all you have put in it.  Thank you, Lord, that I do not need to worry about these things.  Thank you, Lord, that you know what we have need of.  You know all the due dates.  You know exactly when is the best time to do everything, to accomplish your perfect purpose.  Thank you, Lord, for this beautiful day.

Look at the sunshine over there!  Thank you, Lord.  Thank you for creating such beauty.  Thank you for enabling us to perceive beauty.  Thank you for the calming that does for my soul.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

About Monica Miller

Monica Miller is a wife, homemaker, reader, writer, violinist, and whatever else God has her be at the time.
This entry was posted in faith, God, prayer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

