Quality rather than quantity.

Quality rather than quantity–when did we lose this?  Maybe some haven’t lost it, but I did.  In many different areas of my life, rather than taking care of what I have, I was “expanding,” or trying to.  Yet what I had was getting run down and unkempt.

And the LORD God took the man, and put him into the garden of Eden to dress it and to keep it.  Genesis 2:15

The way I’ve been living my life, rather than dressing and keeping the garden God has placed me in, I’ve been running around trying to expand the borders of the garden, or even wanting to see what’s outside the garden.  And rather than helping the other people God has placed in this garden with me, I have been thinking I’d rather help the people outside the garden.  Then I’ve been feeling like a failure because I can’t reach them the way I’d like to; the whole time there’s someone standing right next to me starving for encouragement.  I’ve been neglecting the people God has placed in the garden with me, because I’ve been trying to look outside the garden instead.

Lord, I repent.  Forgive me, Lord.  Thank you for your forgiveness.  Thank you for showing me to repent of this.  Thank you for showing  me you will help me to change in this area.  I turn away from the sin, and I turn towards you, Lord.  I ask you to help me dress and keep the garden you have placed me in, and help me to be a blessing to the people you have placed in my life.  I want to do your will, where and when you want me to, Father.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Thank you, Lord, for this garden you have placed me in.  Thank you for the people you have placed here with me.  Thank you, Lord, for the gifts you have given me—use them to bless your children, Lord, these here with me, these you have placed in my life; and thank you that you will bless even those I don’t know however you decide to, but that’s your business.  Now I thank you for these people right here in my life, and I ask that you will bless them, and bless them through me as you see fit.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

About Monica Miller

Monica Miller is a wife, homemaker, reader, writer, violinist, and whatever else God has her be at the time.
This entry was posted in God, prayer, wisdom and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

