Morning prayer

Praise you, Lord, be glorified, be lifted high.  You are Lord of heaven and earth.  You are Lord of all.  You are Lord of my life, Lord of my body, Lord of my mind, Lord of my soul, Lord of my spirit, Lord of my heart.  You are Lord of all of me:  every part belongs to you.  Make me full of Light, Lord, having no part dark.  Fill me with your love, Lord, that there is no darkness in me.  Cleanse me so that there is nothing left of the old me:  make me transparent, that you may shine through freely and brightly and fully.  Let there be no part dark in me, nothing hidden, no hidden motives, no craftiness, no deceit; let there be only sincerity and truth and love and purity.  You make me holy, Lord, through Jesus Christ.

Brightness as the shining of a new day.  The day star has arisen in my heart.  All is made new.  All is fresh and clean.  All is pure and loving.  Jesus is Lord of all of me.  I have been given his righteousness as a gift—he covers me, clothes me in fine white linen, which is the righteousness of saints.  And a voice came out of the throne, saying, Praise our God, all ye his servants, and ye that fear him, both small and great.  And I heard as it were the voice of a great multitude, and as the voice of many waters, and as the voice of mighty thunderings, saying, Alleluia:  for the Lord God omnipotent reigneth.  Let us be glad and rejoice, and give honour to him:  for the marriage of the Lamb is come, and his wife hath made herself ready.  And to her was granted that she should be arrayed in fine linen, clean and white:  for the fine linen is the righteousness of saints.  And he saith unto me, Write, Blessed are they which are called unto the marriage supper of the Lamb.  And he saith unto me, These are the true sayings of God.  Revelation 19:7-9

Wherefore, my brethren, ye also are become dead to the law by the body of Christ; that ye should be married to another, even to him who is raised from the dead, that we should bring forth fruit unto God.  Romans 7:4

* * *

Thank you, Lord, for being with me always.  Thank you, Lord, for being patient with me.  Thank you, Lord, that you know all things, and you know how to communicate with me perfectly—I don’t have to wonder if I’m hearing you right.  I can trust you that you will never mislead me, nor allow me to be misled, because I have asked you to never allow me to be misled.

I want to do your will, and your will alone, Father.  I do not want to follow my own imaginations.  I do not want to go after selfish ambitions.  I want to do your will, O Lord, your will alone.  I delight to do your will, O Lord, because your word says that I delight to do your will.  I believe you.  I love you.  And I delight to do your will.  Thank you, Father, for keeping me in the truth.  Thank you, Father, that you will never let me be deceived, because I have asked you in the name of Jesus Christ never to let me be deceived.

I do not want to follow after vanities.  I do not want to waste the time you have given me.  I do not want to squander away time or money or energy.  I want to do your will, O Lord, your will alone.

Father, please guide me so clearly that I always do what you want me to do.  Guide me so clearly that I only think what you want me to think.  Guide me so clearly, Father, that I only speak what you want me to speak.  I do not want to do or think or speak of myself.  I only want to do your will, think according to your will, and speak according to your will, O my God.  In the name of Jesus Christ I ask these things, Amen.

Fill me with love, Father, your perfect love, for you and for all the world that you loved so much you sent your only begotten Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

About Monica Miller

Monica Miller is a wife, homemaker, reader, writer, violinist, and whatever else God has her be at the time.
This entry was posted in faith, God, prayer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

