Humility

Thank you, Lord, for this day and all you have placed in it.  Thank you that you made it for us, to bless us, and also for your glory.  Thank you for loving us, Lord.

Lord, thank you that you guide me.  Thank you that you are guiding me today.  I am yours, Lord.  Cause me to do your will.  Let me do nothing out of vainglory or strife, but let my heart be set upon you and help me to glorify you in all that I do.  All that I do is through you and for you, Lord.  I am nothing of myself.  I want no glory.  I want no praise.  I just want you, Lord.  I want to please you.

Lord, forgive me for pride and arrogance.  Forgive me for thinking I know more than someone else.  Forgive me for thinking in my heart that I’m a more mature Christian than someone else.  Forgive me for thinking that I am farther along, closer to perfect.  Forgive me, Lord, in the name of Jesus Christ, for all these vain thoughts.  Thank you that I am nothing of myself, I am nothing by myself, I am only anything through Jesus Christ, by his grace, by your grace and your mercy, Lord.  Oh, Father, cleanse me from secret faults.  Cleanse me from those faults I am not even aware of.  Cleanse me from all wickedness, from all uncleanness, from all vanity, Father, in the name of Jesus Christ I ask.

Thank you, Father, that if we confess our sins, you are faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.  I’ll never get it right on my own.  I need Jesus.  His righteousness is counted to be my righteousness by faith.  I am made pure by the blood of the Lamb.  I receive the cleansing of Jesus Christ.  I receive the purification and sanctification of the Holy Spirit.  I have been redeemed by the blood of the Lamb.  His sacrifice atoned for my sins, all of them.  Jesus paid the debt for me, the debt I could never pay.  He paid the debt for all of us, because none of us could pay it.  And death is swallowed up in victory.  The accuser of our brethren has been cast down, defeated by the Lord Jesus Christ at the cross.  Jesus defeated death for us when God raised him from the dead.  And now Jesus sits at the right hand of the Father in glory.  Hallelujah!

Thank you, Jesus, that you make intercession for us.  It is Christ that died, yea rather, that is risen again, who is even at the right hand of God, who also maketh intercession for us.  Romans 8:34b

Thank you that nothing shall separate us from the love of Christ.  Thank you that there is no condemnation to them that are in Christ Jesus.

Thank you that it is God that justifieth.  Who shall lay any thing to the charge of God’s elect?  It is God that justifieth.  Romans 8:33

If God be for us, who can be against us?

Lord, remove accusing voices from my presence.  Remove mocking voices from my hearing.  Father, you are not the author of confusion, but of peace.  Peace, in the name of Jesus Christ.

Thank you for saving me, O God.  Thank you for healing me.  Thank you for delivering me.  Thank you for forgiving me.  Thank you for making my life worth living in the name of Jesus Christ.  Thank you that my name is written in heaven.  Thank you for everlasting life in Christ Jesus.  Thank you for calling me.  Thank you for hearing me.

In Jesus’ name, Amen.

* * *

Forgive me, Lord, for having an agenda.  Forgive me for thinking there are certain things I want to get done today, rather than letting you lead me through this day from moment to moment.  I don’t want my own agenda.  I want your agenda.  I want to do what you want me to do this day.  I want to enjoy what you give me to enjoy this day.  I want to delight in what you give me to delight in this day.

Having my own agenda, these things I thought I wanted to do today, was getting in the way of enjoying what you are bringing to me today.  I got so caught up in what I thought I wanted to do today, that I felt distaste for what you were bringing me, Lord.  I didn’t want to give up any of “my time” in order to spend time with someone else, but wanted to get doing what I wanted to get done today.  I felt pressure that I might not get to do what I wanted to do today.  It gave me anxiety and tension and stress.

And that is not of you.

God is not the author of confusion, but of peace.  God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind.

This is not my day:  I did not make it.  Today is your day, Lord:  you made it.  You give it to us as a gift, and everything you have placed in it is a gift.  Forgive me for looking at a beautiful gift and thinking how I would rather have it be.  How horrible.  Forgive me, Father.  Wash ungratefulness from me.  Thank you that if we confess our sins, you are faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.

Thank you, Lord, for this day, and for all you have placed in it.  Thank you for washing me clean now and giving me a fresh start.  I praise you for all you have given me.  I thank you for using me to bless others as you see fit.  I thank you for showing me you don’t want me to have my own agenda, and that it is for my own good and for your good purposes that you don’t want me to have my own agenda.

You have come that we might have life, and that we might have it more abundantly.  Thank you for teaching me how to receive the abundant life you want for me.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

About Monica Miller

Monica Miller is a wife, homemaker, reader, writer, violinist, and whatever else God has her be at the time.
This entry was posted in God, prayer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

